Category:

 Historical

Luke Elliott and Claudia Marsden have fallen in love at a perilous time. The Second World War is raging in the Pacific, barbed wire and gun emplacements are strung along the northern beaches in preparation for invasion. As the war moves closer, their 'sextet' of loyal school friends ... read more

Above the Fold

Category:

 Historical

Who remembers the onlookers on the sidelines of big events? Such bystanders as the deposed queen Vashti, the blood-stained murdering grandmother Athaliah, the bluff soldier in King David's army, or the desperately searching mother Phoebe? In Bystanders Valerie Volk... read more

Bystanders: Echoes of Stories Past

Category:

 Historical

For much of the World War II conflict, Japan had been a safe haven for its citizens, far, far away from Germany's relentless advance in Europe and the daily horrors of such events as the London blitz, concentration camps and the fall of France. But Alex Faure always felt that ... read more

Dragons in the Forest

Category:

 Historical

Awards:  Longlisted for The Women's Prize for Fiction 2020

A stunning new departure for Maggie O'Farrell's fiction, HAMNET is the heart-stopping story behind Shakespeare's most famous play.
On a summer's day in 1596, a young girl in Stratford-upon-Avon takes to her bed with a fever. Her twin brother, Hamnet, searches everywhere for help. Wh... read more

Hamnet (PB)

Category:

 Historical

Awards:Longlisted for the 2018 Women's Prize for Fiction

The long-awaited novel from the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of A Visit from the Goon Squad, Manhattan Beach opens in Brooklyn during the Great Depression. Anna Kerrigan, nearly twelve years old, accompanies her father to the house of a man who, she gleans, is crucial to the sur... read more

Manhattan Beach (PB)

Category:

 Historical

Awards:Longlisted for The Women's Prize for Fiction 2018 Shortlisted for the ABIA Literary Fiction Book of the Year 2018

Longlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2018 Haunting, gripping and gorgeously written, SEE WHAT I HAVE DONE by Sarah Schmidt is a re-imagining of the unsolved American true crime case of the Lizzie Borden murders, for fans of BURIAL RITES and MAKING A MURDERER.
... read more

See What I Have Done

Category:

 Historical

Awards:   

 
 

The Bee and the Orange Tree

Category:

 Historical

Viviane de Faitaud has grown up alone at the Chateau de Belisama-sur-le-Lac in Brittany, for her father, the Marquis de Ravoisier, lives at the court of Louis XVI in Versailles. After a hailstorm destroys the chateau's orchards, gardens and fields an ambitious young Welshman, David... read more

The Blue Rose

Category:

 Historical

A moving story of unexpected love featuring Charlotte from Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice. 'Poignant, pensive and brilliant ...' Laurel Ann Nattress, editor of Jane Austen Made Me Do It.

The Clergyman's Wife

Category:

 Historical

Reading Level:1 Fiction

The new historical blockbuster by the bestselling author of The Pearl Thief. 'It won't matter how many diamonds you find if you lose the love of your child.'When six-year-old Clementine Knight loses her mother to malaria during the 1870s diamond rush in southern Africa, she is... read more

The Diamond Hunter

Category:

 Historical

Awards:   

In 1901, the word 'Bondmaid' was discovered missing from the Oxford English Dictionary. This is the story of the girl who stole it.
Esme is born into a world of words. Motherless and irrepressibly curious, she spends her childhood in the 'Scriptorium', a garden... read more

The Dictionary of Lost Words

Category:

 Historical

Reading Level:1 Fiction

From the author of The Paris Seamstress comes a story of courage, family and forgiveness.
Manhattan, Paris, 1942: When Jessica May's successful modelling career is abruptly cut short, she is assigned to the war in Europe as a photojournalist for Vogue. But when she arr... read more

The French Photographer - TPB