Category:

 Short Stories

Reading Level:1 Fiction

Around you the world is swirling - you pass through a submerged town; the bakery, a wheelbarrow, a bike floating on its side on the main street, its steeples and trees barely visible through the thick water.
In the distance the wreck of the gunship HMS Elizabeth... read more

A Lovely and Terrible Thing
$29.99(AUD) inc GST

Category:

 Short Stories

Series:Penguin Little Black Classics

"I did have hallucinations, but did they harm anyone? Who did they harm, that's what I'd like to know!' From the supreme artist of the short story, three disturbing tales of supernatural hallucinations, hysterical obsession and moral decay. This is one of... read more

A Nervous Breakdown : Little Black Classic
$4.99(AUD) inc GST

The literary equivalent to a comforting bath before bed, this beautiful anthology of short tales and poems will calm and restore an anxious mind before sleep.
A good night's sleep is fundamental to our well being and our health, yet in our busy wo... read more

Bedtime Stories for Stressed Out Adults
$32.99(AUD) inc GST

Category:

 Short Stories

Awards:PEN/Jean Stein Book Award


A piercingly raw debut story collection from a young writer with an explosive voice; a treacherously surreal, and, at times, heartbreakingly satirical look at what it's like to be young and black in America. From the start of this extraordinary debut, Nana Kwame Adjei-Bre... read more

Friday Black
$26.99(AUD) inc GST

Category:

 Short Stories

Series:Griffith Review Ser.

Griffith Review'sseventh annual edition dedicated to the novella eschews a set theme to showcase work across a spectrum of subjects. Open to both fiction and creative non-fiction, Griffith Review'sdedication to the novella form has been hailed by Nic... read more

Griffith Review 66: The Novella Project VII

Category:

 Short Stories

Prize-winning and highly commended stories from the Brotherhood of St Laurence Hope Prize Foreword by the Honourable Quentin Bryce AD CVO 'Filled with determination and human spirit about people who overcome the odds with courage and strength' - the Honourable Quentin Bryce AD C... read more

Hope Shines
$19.99(AUD) inc GST

Category:

 Short Stories

"Among the thousands of books for prospective and new parents, I doubt any will make you feel more understood and less alone than this one."--ANTHONY DOERR, author of ALL THE LIGHT WE CANNOT SEE "Armed with wit, tenderness and candor, Look How Happy I'm Making You] ... read more

Look How Happy I'm Making You
$37.99(AUD) inc GST

Category:

 Short Stories

Modern Japanese Short Stories is a remarkable collection of Japanese stories from the pioneers of contemporary Japanese literature. This volume's twenty-five stories by as many authors display a wide range of style and ... read more

Modern Japanese Short Stories - An Anthology (25 Short Stories by 25 Authors)
$29.99(AUD) inc GST

Category:

 Short Stories

A scintillating collection of stories from the master of science fiction. Since the beginning of his career in the 1940s, Ray Bradbury has become synonymous with great science fiction from the pulp comic books of his early work to his adaptations for television,... read more

Ray Bradbury Stories Volume 2
$35.00(AUD) inc GST

Category:

 Short Stories

Reading Level:4 Non Fiction

A collection of stories and essays by the award-winning author of Dark Emu, showcasing his shimmering genius across a lifetime of work. Bruce Pascoe has been described as a 'living national treasure' and his work as 'revelatory'. This volume of his best and most ... read more

Salt: Selected Essays and Stories
$34.99(AUD) inc GST

Category:

 Short Stories

From White Review Short Story Prize winner Julia Armfield, a brilliant, provocative debut story collection for fans of Carmen Maria Machado and Kelly Link.
In her electrifying debut, Julia Armfield explores women's experiences in contemporary society, mapped through their bodi... read more

Salt Slow
$32.99(AUD) inc GST

Category:

 Short Stories

Shortlisted for the 2019 VPLA for an unpublished manuscript, Shirl expertly dissects the Australian identity through a range of what-if scenarios: a lonely yowie emerges from the bush to attend the Desperate and Dateless Ball; mysterious creatures descend from the sky to place a ban on ... read more

Shirl