Category:

 Short Stories

Reading Level:1 Fiction

Around you the world is swirling - you pass through a submerged town; the bakery, a wheelbarrow, a bike floating on its side on the main street, its steeples and trees barely visible through the thick water.
In the distance the wreck of the gunship HMS Elizabeth... read more

A Lovely and Terrible Thing

The literary equivalent to a comforting bath before bed, this beautiful anthology of short tales and poems will calm and restore an anxious mind before sleep.
A good night's sleep is fundamental to our well being and our health, yet in our busy wo... read more

Bedtime Stories for Stressed Out Adults
$32.99(AUD) inc GST

Category:

 Short Stories

Awards:PEN/Jean Stein Book Award


A piercingly raw debut story collection from a young writer with an explosive voice; a treacherously surreal, and, at times, heartbreakingly satirical look at what it's like to be young and black in America. From the start of this extraordinary debut, Nana Kwame Adjei-Bre... read more

Friday Black
$26.99(AUD) inc GST

Category:

 Short Stories

Prize-winning and highly commended stories from the Brotherhood of St Laurence Hope Prize Foreword by the Honourable Quentin Bryce AD CVO 'Filled with determination and human spirit about people who overcome the odds with courage and strength' - the Honourable Quentin Bryce AD C... read more

Hope Shines
$19.99(AUD) inc GST

Category:

 Short Stories

"Among the thousands of books for prospective and new parents, I doubt any will make you feel more understood and less alone than this one."--ANTHONY DOERR, author of ALL THE LIGHT WE CANNOT SEE "Armed with wit, tenderness and candor, Look How Happy I'm Making You] ... read more

Look How Happy I'm Making You
$37.99(AUD) inc GST

Category:

 Short Stories

From White Review Short Story Prize winner Julia Armfield, a brilliant, provocative debut story collection for fans of Carmen Maria Machado and Kelly Link.
In her electrifying debut, Julia Armfield explores women's experiences in contemporary society, mapped through their bodi... read more

Salt Slow
$32.99(AUD) inc GST

Category:

 Short Stories

It should come as no surprise that short stories by the author of the magical Possession are populated by erudite paranoiacs, witches, changelings, and the ghost of a dead child. A S Byatt's short fictions explore the fragile ties between generations, the dizzying abys... read more

Sugar And Other Stories
$22.99(AUD) inc GST

Category:

 Short Stories

Reading Level:4 Non Fiction

Before television and radio, people would gather on porches, on the steps outside their homes, and tell stories. Their bewitched listeners would sit and listen long into the night as moths flitted around overhead. Storytelling p... read more

The Moth: Occasional Magic - True Stories of Defying the Impossible

Category:

 Short Stories

Series:P. S. Ser.

"Erdrich is a true original... and] one of our major writers: She illuminates large swaths of U.S. history and culture, and The Red Covertible] is a good demonstration of her compelling stylistic innovations, not to mention her literary cunn... read more

The Red Convertible - Selected and New Stories, 1978-2008
$24.99(AUD) inc GST