Product detail

The Definition of Us

The Definition of Us

Author: Sarah Harris
$18.99(AUD)  inc GST
Description

NORMAL (definition)
(adj.) Conforming to a standard; regular, typical or expected
(urban) A word inapplicable to human beings
(Florence) Round, smooth and bumpy like a cobbled street


Florence doesn't always see things the way other people do. She feels different.


When Florence meets Jasper, Andrew and Wilf she can't imagine they'd have much in common - with at least five mental health conditions between them, they all have very different reasons for being referred to Manor Lane Therapy Centre.


It's only when their therapist, Howard, goes missing that they find a common purpose. Worried by his disappearance and wanting answers, the four of them decide to track him down.


As they cross the country in a 'borrowed' van, asking each other Ultimate Questions and facing a series of challenges along the way, they start to reveal their true selves - and Florence realises there's more to all of them than just a diagnosis . . .


Maybe they're not so different after all?


Full of irreverent humour, witty dialogue and characters you can't help but fall in love with, this timely novel is perfect for fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell and Jennifer Niven.


'This is without a doubt one of the best (if not THE best) YA book about mental health that I've read; Sarah Harris takes such a delicate subject, weaves humour and love and friendship, and creates such a beautiful book' Beautiful Bookland


'I can honestly say that this is the best book about mental health that I've read to date. The representation, understanding, acceptance and 'relatability' of mental health portrayed in this book was, in my opinion, flawless. It's juxtaposed with sweetness, humour, romance and friendship and I enjoyed every minute of it' My Endless Shelf

'Everything I love about contemporary YA . . . highly recommended' Goodreads reviewer

'The characters, the story, the writing - all of it was endearing and wonderful, and now I hold this book so close to my heart' Goodreads reviewer

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9780349419640
  • : Little, Brown Book Group Limited
  • : Piatkus Books
  • : June 2014
  • : ---length:- '19.8'width:- '12.6'units:- Centimeters
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Sarah Harris
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : 823.92
  • : 272