Product detail

A Thousand Paper Birds

A Thousand Paper Birds (out of print)

Author: Tor Udall
$27.99(AUD)  inc GST
Description

An intimate portrait of five inextricably linked lives, spanning one calendar year at Kew Gardens - an exquisite, strange and beautiful debut for fans of Alice Sebold, Curtis Sittenfeld, Barbara Kingsolver and Audrey Niffenegger After the sudden death of his wife, Audrey, Jonah sits on a bench in Kew Gardens, trying to reassemble the shattered pieces of his life. Chloe, shaven-headed and abrasive, finds solace in the origami she meticulously folds. But when she meets Jonah, her carefully constructed defences threaten to fall. Milly, a child quick to laugh, freely roams Kew, finding beauty everywhere she goes. But where is her mother and where does she go when the gardens are closed? Harry's purpose is to save plants from extinction. Quiet and enigmatic, he longs for something - or someone - who will root him more firmly to the earth. Audrey links these strangers together. As the mystery of her death unravels, the characters journey through the seasons to learn that stories, like paper, can be refolded and reformed. Haunted by songs and origami birds, this novel is a love letter to a garden and a hymn to lost things.

Promotion info

An intimate portrait of five inextricably linked lives, spanning one calendar year at Kew Gardens - an exquisite, strange and beautiful debut for fans of Alice Sebold, Curtis Sittenfeld, Barbara Kingsolver and Audrey Niffenegger

Reviews

A rich and intricate debut, at once subtle and powerful, intent and reflective, lyrical and visceral, expertly cultivating an abundance of life from all that remains after death James Hannah, author of The A to Z of You and Me A moving story as intricate and elegant as the origami birds that Chloe, one of the characters, folds. I loved this whimsical debut novel Red, Summer Reads An extraordinary, enchanting book. Writing as fine and precise as a botanical sketch, gorgeously arty themes, powerful yet fragile imagery and a brilliant story - this is a book to love and treasure Tracy Rees, author of Amy Snow This novel is all about seeing a "scarred loveliness" in a damaged world Psychologies A delicate and beautiful unfolding of grief, loss, love and the way that lives intersect. Insightful and inventive Ann Morgan, author of Beside Myself Absolutely wonderful. It has the emotional integrity of One Day and the complexity and character depth of Cloud Atlas ... An incredible achievement Deborah Install, author of A Robot in the Garden

Author description

After studying theatre and film, Tor Udall co-founded a dance-theatre company and spent most of her twenties directing, writing and performing. A Thousand Paper Birds is her first novel. She lives in London with her husband and young children. @TorUdall

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781408878644
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : July 2017
  • : 216mm X 135mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : September 2017
  • : December 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Export/Airside ed
  • : en
  • : 813
  • : 336
  • : Tor Udall
  • : Paperback